Hot legs

All my life, my breasts have been a touchy subject (no pun intended.) When I was much younger–a mere teen with a tiny frame, I was conscious of their lack of symmetry. In reality, looking back, given the amount of attention they attracted–they were likely close to perfection. Despite frequent assurances from boyfriends and even having gathered the confidence to frolick topless in South Beach Miami, I remained convinced they were somehow flawed. To me, bigger boobs were more ‘womanly.’

In fact, I became more critical over the years and the unrealistic images of enhanced breasts presented by the media didn’t help. After my second child was born my body image hit a new low. So much that I made a trip to the plastic surgeon for an evaluation. “You look to be between a 34A and a 34B.” I nodded. “I could get you much bigger breasts. Take a look at these pics.” I slowly reviewed the picture album filled with images of women with what seemed to me to be enormous boobs. “Um, aren’t these too big for me? I’m a size 4.”

The doctor confidently assured me most women wanted to go as big as possible and often returned to replace the original implants with much larger ones. “You know what they say–the bigger the better!” 

Suddenly, I became uncertain, I mean I could handle going a little bit bigger–but I didn’t want boobs anyone would actually NOTICE. I wasn’t used to my boobs being noticed anyway, afterall I had great legs. Suddenly I wondered why I was making such a fuss about my boobs–they’d nurtured two perfect children and, because of their small size were holding up splendidly against the forces of gravity. Much better than my more endowed sisters.

Now, when I see my reflection in the mirror while undressing, I’m glad I didn’ t make a drastic decision to alter my breasts. I’ve come into my own and don’t need large breasts to define me as a woman or to declare my attractiveness. Beauty afterall, is in the eye of the beholder.

Besides I have great legs.

2 thoughts on “Hot legs

  1. I have to agree with you and the older I get the happier I am I was blessed with a smaller bra size. I see women of the same age that were the knockouts of my younger days….and realize that I can still get away with not even wearing a bra if I choose not to even after nursing six children. they are still a decent shape without support, actually admired, where in my 20’s they were laughed at. And the knockoutsfrom then? I hear they are pulling them up from their belly buttons to stuff in to a bra. I had thought about enhancement at one time too. And I honestly don’t know how they hold up over time but I have never been unhappy with my allotted cleavage and have even got to experience all different sizes from pregnancy and nursing. There is a peace to being happy with what we have and finding beauty in it even if it isn’t like everyone else.
    Peace.

Leave a comment