Thrilling to Life

It’s true! I thrill to the mundane–something I avoided less than 5 years ago.

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to exercise 30 minutes daily. Every night, I do reps with free weights before hopping into bed with my journal (or a good book), and every morning I do pushups, then I take a walk right after I see the children off to school. I’m totally thrilled by the crisp air embracing my skin, and I do not care what kind of weather it is (although it likely helps that I live in MD, where the weather has been relatively mild this year!) Come to think of it–I’m likely surpassing my exercise goals due to joy. Afterwards, I return to work from home, while listening to the classical music radio station.

Yesterday, my daughter was off from school and I couldn’t wait to take her to the newly built Miller library. And I wasn’t the only one thrilled to be there, it was packed! We experienced lots of pleasant interactions, moreso as I held my perfect daughter’s hand as she hopped with equisite joy down each step of a winding staircase.

On the shopping front, I get excited about the organic food store–experiencing new foods and more important new people! Today, I’m planning to make a trip to my favorite consignment shop located in Dupont Circle, to peruse ecclectic casual wear and explore textures and color. On Sundays we participate in free family art classes at the Baltimore Art museum–a unique experience for my children and I, an activity that truly engages all of our senses.

Thrilling to the pleasure created by myriad subtle embraces throughout the day, offering a deeper appreciation of this journey we call life.

Leave a Reply

